Someone hurt me a long time ago….

Standard

Actually, a few people have hurt me over the years.

I have forgiven, but on some days, the feelings well up and I feel the hurt again. Some days are more intense than others, depending on the trigger. Yesterday, in my time with God, I decided I will pray for and declare goodness into the life of this person(s) until I am free of the hurt. While wrapping my head around this, I was reminded by God’s spirit that it takes more energy to hate than to love. Just as there are times I am sure God wants to knock some sense into His children, there are times I want to walk up to this person (s) and slap ’em with immense intensity. Just so that they feel the physical manifestation of the hurt they caused me. But what good does that do me? If I say I walk in the infinite wisdom of the most High, surely I must realize that slapping folks randomly isn’t wise. It actually makes me look somewhat silly. There is something about silence that gives you the upper hand, because the person (s) in question will always wonder. I am not saying be fake, no, no, a thousand times no! What I am saying is it takes work to be Christian. It takes dedication, consistency and willingness to allow God reveal His love through you. Soon, it gets easier and then it gets to a point were you are so enveloped in His unfailing love that you forget you once hurt. Love is His gift to me and it is my choice to either unwrap it or not. He choose me, and He loves me inspite of myself. Though I may never be bossom buddies with this person (s), I choose to love on purpose. Call it paying forward.

2 Corinthians 3:17-18 says, Now the Lord is Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty. And we all who with unveiled faces contemplate the Lords glory, are being transformed into His image with ever increasing glory which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.

There is freedom in the presence of God, and when you set your sight on God, nothing else matters. In loving on purpose, I gain my freedom and I regain power over my thoughts, emotions and actions.

Needless to say, thank God for God, else I’ll be slapping folks left, right and centre. 🙂

xoxo

Leave a Reply

