The Spouse and I….

Standard

Marriage can be scary, especially when you think about the ‘forever’ side of things. I happen to think of marriage as a gift, a celebration of love. I suppose individual reactions to the idea of marriage would differ based on life experiences, ideologies and values. I see marriage as God sees marriage. It is a perfect institution, that has unfortunately been distorted by carnality. That being said, I am not ignorant of the pending trials and issues. However my responses, given my progressive intimacy with God, will be measured and wise. This is a journey I choose to embark on, and yes there will be days I would crave temporary insanity, however I have come to know that God does not give you what His grace cannot sufficiently cover. To love my husband in submission and respect is in reverence to God, and also my response to him loving/covering me like Christ loves/covers the church. A personal revelation is that love flows through a marriage that lives up to mutual responsibilities.

There is such a thing as speaking the truth in love, reference: Ephesians 4:15. I got an apt excerpt from a Christian website, which says “our tendency is to do well on 50% of that verse. Some of us have mastered “speaking the truth.” We’re quick to point out anything that we see or perceive in our spouse and are willing to use any method (attacking, judging, etc.) to drive the point home. Others of us are stuck at the “in love” part of confrontation. We’ve come to believe in complete acceptance and tolerance of any behavior. Often we become paralyzed with a fear of hurting someone’s feelings and withdraw into passivity and silence. Speaking the truth in love combines both of these concepts to allow us to confront sinful behavior without compromise, yet with absolute care and respect for the individual, saying things in a way that the person can accept. When a couple takes the stance of living out Paul’s challenge of “speaking the truth in love” to each other, the old models of judging and passivity must disappear.” I totally agree with this, because walking in love is a conscious partnership, and a display of consistent wisdom, “a fool gives full vent to his anger, but a wise (wo)man keeps (her)himself under control” (Proverbs 29:11). Once words have been said, they cannot be retracted. Reckless words pierce like a sword – they leave a scar – but the tongue of the wise brings healing – like a kiss on the lips (Proverbs 12:18). What folks need to understand is that love is an act of will, both an intention and an action. “Let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and in truth” (1 John 3:18).

I am not married yet, but I SO look forward to it. I actually get excited when I think about it. Being married to my best (most important) friend = love on fire, that’s a steady volcano type of love :d. ‘Erm I’m sure I’ll have more to add when I am married. LOL

I came across this amazing website, http://www.fancylittlethings.com. Its a Christian website I absolutely loooove. Think tea sipping, couch laying and article reading. This website literally brings true, pure and lovely into my life. However, the article I read that sorta prompted me to write this post is called 7 ways to be your spouses best friend you can find it here: http://www.fancylittlethings.com/2012/09/7-ways-to-be-your-spouses-best-friend/
Totally relatable and applicable, enjoy!

xoxo

20120924-214455.jpg

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

