A listening heart

Standard

Mary took a pound of ointment of pure liquid nard [a rare perfume] that was very expensive, and she poured it on Jesus’ feet and wiped them with her hair. And the whole house was filled with the fragrance of the perfume. John 12:3

I believe that one of the hardest things to do is look within. We think that the fear of what we might find somewhat justifies the delay of internal dissection. I have been studying the book of John for a few weeks now, and it is in itself a masterpiece, illustrating intimate moments in the life of Jesus Christ, while providing readers with a wealth of knowledge-truths-revelations. The above verse struck a cord with me, and as I sat with my eyes fixed on this verse, I felt emotions welling up on the inside. How often do I give God scraps, while expecting His best for me? How often do I compromise His truth for the benefit of fleshly desires and the world? How often do I make Him AN option instead of THE only option?

Her sister, Mary, sat at the Lord’s feet, listening to what he taught. But Martha was distracted by the big dinner she was preparing. She came to Jesus and said, “Lord, doesn’t it seem unfair to you that my sister just sits here while I do all the work? Tell her to come and help me.” But the Lord said to her, “My dear Martha, you are worried and upset over all these details! There is only one thing worth being concerned about. Mary has discovered it, and it will not be taken away from her.” (Luke 10:39-42 NLT)

Mary always paid attention to Jesus, she was thirsty for Him, He had a special place in her heart…actually I can go as far as saying He owned her heart. She cared about what He said; for her , His words were food to her soul and her nourishment came from being in His presence. She was herself around Him, and distractions were not an option. That she paid attention to Him was for her benefit, as He made her the best version of herself.

I consider the moments (in the wee hours of the morning) I spend at my Father’s feet, having a heart to heart, listening to Him, and giving Him all of me, very precious. Besides being full in my spirit, facing the challenges of the day become a walk in the park. I carry His fragrance with me throughout the day, thus I smile easily, I laugh easily and I am not easily offended (which is major, considering some of the irritating encounters it seems one must have in a day). The bottom-line is that, my time with Him benefits me. Like Mary, He makes me a divinely refined version of me.

In my journey in/with Christ, I have allowed myself be distracted by things that have added no value to my life, and I can’t even account for the wasted time. I am no where near perfect, but I am conscious that He perfects all that concerns me. If only for His elaborate show of love (death and resurrection of Christ) for me, He deserves nothing less than my best, and He certainly deserves more than a hasty scheduled appointment in my day. He desires my heart, and my listening heart is what I give Him.

Have a blessed and happy Sunday! 😊☺😀

xoxo

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

